Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

You are here:

About the levels

Te Aho Arataki Marau mō te Ako i Te Reo Māori/Curriculum Guidelines for Teaching and Learning Te Reo Māori

Te Aho Arotaki Marau is intended to help every English-medium school in New Zealand design and shape a curriculum that includes te reo Māori, alongside other learning areas, and acknowledges its value.


The levels outlined in Te Aho Arataki Marau target students successfully completing NCEA level 1 at year 11. To do this, students in year 11 be will be completing Level 6 of Te Aho Arataki Marau.

New resources being developed by the Ministry are based on the following year–level alignments: Years 1–6 = levels 1–2, years 7–8 = levels 2-3, year 9–10 = levels 3–4, year 11 = level 5–6, year 12 = level 7 and year 13 = level 8.

Site map